EOA Awards

In 2022, the EOA introduced two different distinctions: the EOA Flame Award and the EOA Medal of Merit.

The EOA Flame Awards. © EOA/Renatas Mizeras

EOA Flame Award

The “EOA Flame Award” is an annual celebration to acknowledge the work of the National Olympic Academies, promote best practices and results, and provide an inspiration to live by the Olympic values and ideals.

The following categories are currently specified (as of 23 November 2022):
a) EOA Flame Award – “Best Olympic Education Project”
b) EOA Flame Award – “Best Olympic Heritage Project”

Candidates can only be EOA member organisations. The member must submit a short project description (project length, scope, (expected) results, financial volume, stakeholder involvement, etc.) via email by the announced deadline. The project must have been carried out within a year prior to the EOA Congress and must have a clear focus on its category.

Winners of the EOA Flame Award Olympic Education

YearProject (NOA)
2023The All-Ukrainian Network of Olympic Education Schools
(Olympic Academy of Ukraine)

Winners of the EOA Flame Award Olympic Heritage

YearProject (NOA)
2023Retrospective Monographs (1896-1936)
(Czech Olympic Academy)
The EOA Medal of Merit. © EOA/Renatas Mizeras

EOA Medal of Merit

The EOA Medal of Merit is the association’s most distinguished honour. It shall be awarded on an irregular basis to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the European Olympic Academies (EOA) and/or the Olympic Movement in Europe.

EOA member organisations can nominate individuals in writing to the EOA Executive Board. The Board decides on the merit of the award, its rank and time of presentation.

The following ranks are available and are defined as follows:

EOA Medal of Merit in Gold
Awarded for the highest attainable accomplishment with outstanding and long-lasting impact on Olympic education in Europe.
EOA Medal of Merit in Silver
Awarded for an outstanding accomplishment with a significant impact on Olympic education in Europe.

Awardees of the EOA Flame Awards

2023Ales Solar, Slovenian Olympic Academy (Gold)
for his contributions to the EOA in its founding years as the first Treasurer from 2018 until 2022.